aaaaaah!
well ofcourse in the meantime I started figuring out
something had to be in the rules about that, I just couldn't find out what it was.
So here's my answer, if the ball does not touch the ring on a FT, there is no rebound possible... Nice rule.
And thanks for releasing me from my decades of brainpain. ;)
Then I'd still try to hit the rim, but miss the shot, and hope one of my own guys can grab the rebound. If you net it, you loose anyway...

They are not your friends; they dispise you. I am the only one you can count on. Trust me.